Diversity in UK Polar Science – Steering Committee

Steering Committee membership

The Diversity in UK Polar Science Steering Committee, Chaired by the Head of the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) Polar Regions Department includes individuals from British Antarctic Survey, UK Higher Education Institutes, the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), European Polar Board (EPB), as well as diversity and inclusion advocates including Pride in Polar Research group, Women in Polar Science group, Minorities in Polar Science group.

Jane Rumble OBE.
Head of the UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) Polar Regions Department since 2007. Deputy Commissioner for the British Antarctic Territory, UK CCAMLR Commissioner and the Chair of DiPSi Steering Committee. Jane is a geographer by background and a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. During 2018 Jane was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science from the University of Leeds and an OBE for services to Polar science, marine conservation and diplomacy.
https://research.tees.ac.uk/files-asset/4126723/DisplayPhoto.jpgSimon McKeown
holds a PHD and is a Reader (semi professor) in the Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art (MIMA) School of Art and Design, at Teesside University. He is a member of the External Advisory Group on Equality Diversity and Inclusion to the UK Governments UK Research and Innovation (UKRI).
https://www.scar.org/images/people/Chandy_Nath_web.jpg Chandrika Nath
is Executive Director of SCAR has a PhD in High Energy Physics and worked as a glaciologist at BAS and has 17 years’ experience of providing scientific advice to policy makers across the UK Government and SCAR. She has a keen interest in diversity and capacity building and has worked with parliaments and researchers across the world to support uptake of research evidence in policy-making.
Renuka Badhe
is the Executive Secretary of the European Polar Board (EPB), holds a PhD on Southern Ocean phytoplankton physiology, and other degrees in environmental sciences, economics and public policy. Renuka has experience with various aspects of polar science, policy and strategy development and the interfaces between them form her principle area of interest.
Beatrix Schlarb-Ridley
is Director Innovation and Impact and Directorate Diversity Champion at BAS. Her remit is to unlock the potential of polar research for the benefit of society and economy, and to foster innovative ways of working. She has a passion for people, addressing issues of global importance such as equality and climate, and helping society adapt to a changing world.
Donna Frater
is the Project Manager of this initiative.  She is a sedimentary geologist and recently completed a Masters in Gender, Development and Globalisation from LSE. She has the research analyst role for the initiative and looks to combine a career in science with policy change and diversity efforts.
Pilvi Muschitiello
is Impact Facilitator within the BAS Innovation Team. Pilvi is an active member of the BAS EDI Network and co-chairs the [email protected] forum. She supports Donna Frater in administrative tasks, updates the DiPSI website and was part of the UK Polar Horizons organising team.
Mariella Giancola
is the Head of Human Resource at BAS and leads the EDI Agenda. Mariella has spent most of her professional life working with researchers and professional staff in Cambridge to enhance their career opportunities and develop a more inclusive workplace. Since she joined BAS in 2015 Mariella has worked closely with members of the Staff Forum and the EDI Network to drive the EDI agenda at BAS.
Linda Capper
is Head of Communications at British Antarctic Survey.  She advises on strategic engagement issues for this initiative, and ensures that it benefits from alignment with UKRI-NERC and BAS’ own policy initiatives for equality, diversity and inclusion.
Geraldine Hough
is a BAS HR Project Officer for equality, diversity and inclusion started her career in environmental management before disability led her to focus on welfare and inclusion. Geraldine works with BAS staff groups and networks and is a Time to Change champion.
Athena Dinar
is Senior Science Communication Manager, Communications team. She advises and leads the development and delivery of the project’s engagement campaign.
Huw Griffiths
is a BAS marine biogeographer with an interest in the Polar Regions. He is a co-founder of Pride in Polar Research. Currently the Co-chair and theme leader for Spatial Ecology of the SCAR (Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research) scientific research programme AntEco (State of the Antarctic Ecosystem).
Lara Lalemi

is a Postgraduate research student in Chemistry at Bristol University. Lara put on the first BME LGBT+ event at the Students’ Union and was the BME LGBT+ rep for the BME network and organised a new Diversity in STEM event to platform speakers from minority groups in science.



Premdeep Gill
is a PhD student heading up the “Seals from Space” priority project with BAS, the University of Cambridge and WWF, analysing how remote sensing and machine learning techniques can be used in the study and conservation of Antarctic pack-ice seals. Prem is the founder of Minorities in Polar Research.