18 July, 2022 AIMP, News stories

This month (July 2022) a formal change in the leadership of the Antarctic Infrastructure Modernisation Programme (AIMP) takes place.  

Elen Jones joins British Antarctic Survey as the new AIMP Programme Director and Leigh Storey is the new Senior Responsible Owner (SRO).  

Elen comes from Network Rail and Leigh joins from the National Oceanography Centre. Leigh is also Associate Director for the Natural Environment Research Council’s (NERC) Major Programmes and is the SRO for the Net Zero Oceanographic Capability programme. 

Professor Dame Jane Francis, Director, British Antarctic Surveys says:

“British Antarctic Survey thanks Nigel Bird, who has been SRO of AIMP for many years, and Dani Durston who was interim AIMP Programme Director since the departure of Jon Ager in December last year.” 

The modernisation of the Antarctic infrastructure has been supported by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) with over £600 million funding. This includes the commissioning of Britain’s new polar research ship, RRS Sir David Attenborough, and new wharves at Rothera and King Edward Point research stations and decarbonising the BAS Estate in Antarctica.  The Rothera Renewable Energy Project will identify how the research stations can move to renewable energy technology over the next ten years.  

A boat that is sitting in the snow.
The new Discovery Building at Rothera Research station will change the way BAS operates in Antarctica

The modernisation programme continues with the ongoing construction of the new Discovery building in Rothera which will provide new facilities for future scientists; procurement, testing and acceptance into service of the new Dash8 intercontinental aircraft and related upgrades of the runway at Rothera.  

The future programme includes the replacement of Signy as a net-zero station.

 The AIMP is commissioned by the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC), part of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI).  

A person posing for the camera