11 August, 2008

I am very pleased to announce the appointment of two Non-Executive members who will join the BAS Board with immediate effect.

Professor John Shepherd FRS

John Shepherd is a Professorial Research Fellow in Earth System Science, School of Ocean and Earth Science, National Oceanography Centre, University of Southampton.  He is also Deputy Director (External Science Coordination) of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research and a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications.  He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1999.  His current research interests include the natural variability of the climate system on long time-scales, and the development and use of intermediate complexity models (especially GENIE) of the Earth climate system, for the interpretation of the palaeo-climate record, and for long-term projections of climate change.

Ms Louisa Anne Bolch

Louisa Bolch is currently the Wellcome Trust Clore Fellow for Leadership, Public Engagement and Education in Science.  Prior to this Louisa spent more than 7 years commissioning television programmes about science and society for Channel 4 and the Discovery Channel.  She has involvement with a range of organisations including the Cheltenham Festival of Science, The Royal Society, the Arts Council and the Advertising Standards Authority.

I very much look forward to working with our new Board members who bring a rich and diverse range of views and experiences to help us deliver our Mission and achieve our vision.

Professor Nicholas J P Owens
Director, British Antarctic Survey