British Antarctic Survey https://www.bas.ac.uk Polar science for planet earth Sun, 24 Feb 2019 03:21:05 +0000 en-GB hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.0.3 Procurement and Supply Chain Business Partner – Cambridge https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/procurement-and-supply-chain-business-partner-cambridge/ Sat, 23 Feb 2019 03:16:12 +0000 https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/procurement-and-supply-chain-business-partner-cambridge/ Krill swarms responsible for ‘hidden’ carbon storage https://www.bas.ac.uk/media-post/krill-swarms-responsible-for-hidden-carbon-storage/ Thu, 21 Feb 2019 10:08:24 +0000 https://www.bas.ac.uk/?post_type=news&p=126234 Large krill swarms in the Southern Ocean could help remove additional carbon from the atmosphere, in a way that is currently ‘hidden’ in global models. The new study is published …]]> Stores Operative – Cambridge https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/stores-operative-cambridge-3/ Thu, 21 Feb 2019 03:15:48 +0000 https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/stores-operative-cambridge-3/ Zoological Field Assistants – Iceland https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/zoological-field-assistants-iceland/ Thu, 21 Feb 2019 03:15:46 +0000 https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/zoological-field-assistants-iceland/ Krill faecal pellets drive hidden pulses of particulate organic carbon in the marginal ice zone https://www.bas.ac.uk/data/our-data/publication/krill-faecal-pellets-drive-hidden-pulses-of-particulate-organic-carbon/ Thu, 21 Feb 2019 00:00:00 +0000 https://www.bas.ac.uk/data/our-data/publication/krill-faecal-pellets-drive-hidden-pulses-of-particulate-organic-carbon/ Steel Erector – Antarctica https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/steel-erector-antarctica-3/ Wed, 20 Feb 2019 03:16:04 +0000 https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/steel-erector-antarctica-3/ HR Administrator – Recruitment Assistant – Cambridge https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/hr-administrator-recruitment-assistant-cambridge-2/ Wed, 20 Feb 2019 03:15:48 +0000 https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/hr-administrator-recruitment-assistant-cambridge-2/ Airworthiness Coordinator – Cambridge https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/airworthiness-coordinator-cambridge/ Wed, 20 Feb 2019 03:15:48 +0000 https://www.bas.ac.uk/jobs/vacancy/airworthiness-coordinator-cambridge/ Another research expedition but this time quite different https://www.bas.ac.uk/blogpost/another-expedition-to-antarctic-waters-but-this-time-it-is-quite-different/ Tue, 19 Feb 2019 08:05:08 +0000 https://www.bas.ac.uk/?post_type=blogpost&p=126181 Dr Claus-Dieter Hillenbrand is a marine geologist at British Antarctic Survey (BAS). He is one of two UK scientists participating in International Ocean Discovery (IODP) Expedition 379 to the Amundsen …]]> Isolation, characterisation and lipase production of a cold-adapted bacterial strain isolated from Signy Island, Antarctica https://www.bas.ac.uk/data/our-data/publication/isolation-characterisation-and-lipase-production-of-a-cold-adapted-bacterial-strain/ Sat, 16 Feb 2019 00:00:00 +0000 https://www.bas.ac.uk/data/our-data/publication/isolation-characterisation-and-lipase-production-of-a-cold-adapted-bacterial-strain/